User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Gear change / clutch issues??

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Gear change / clutch issues??

    Ok so I have new pressure plate, new clutch, new PAR flywheel, VLSD gearbox.

    The clutch cable is adjusted all the way and wont go any further. Is there something I'm missing or do I need a new cable maybe? Are they known to stretch at all? Or is this something else?

  2. #2
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its adjusted fully and you have too much pedal freeplay ?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes its adjusted all the way and there is still slack in the cable. Selecting gears is not smooth, I have to use force.

  4. #4
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try removing the clutch cable bracket and drilling some new holes in it to give yourself some more adjustment.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Cozzm0, it worked perfectly. Every gear is perfect, except third. I have no third gear! So it seems the spare gearbox I had wasn't in working order. Although when I opened up the box to have a look before I installed it, it looked just fine inside. No broken gears, or selectors.

    Its a VLSD box. I have a stock n15 box which is in working condition, minus the diff. Are the gears interchangeable between the two? So if I need to repair the vlsd, could I use the gears from the n15 box and put them in?

    This car is beginning to give me a headache.

  6. #6
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes, you can swap the gear clusters but you must also swap the pinion shaft. If you're going to swap just the 3rd gear syncros or something that could also be done.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Cozzm0 For This Useful Post:

    GTI (19-04-2016)

  8. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So the gears look good. Selectors look good and from what I can tell are working.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20160426_024100.jpg 
Views:	166 
Size:	86.3 KB 
ID:	1306

    But after having a good look I found this!!! All three bolts are loose!!! I'm guessing this is why 3rd gear wasnt engaging? Or could it still be something else? I know my way around a motor, but Im a complete noob when it comes to gearbox internals.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20160426_024145.jpg 
Views:	161 
Size:	78.2 KB 
ID:	1307

  9. #8
    If in doubt, boost it out Paullus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toowoomba, QLD
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    43
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Those 3 bolts *shouldn't* stop it engaging, as the shaft is supported at each end and doesn't allow for much lateral movement. Then again it might just be enough. Those bolts should have loctite or equivalent on them.
    Paul

    11.9@125

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Paullus For This Useful Post:

    GTI (27-04-2016)

  11. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. Its what I was kind of thinking, just wanted to hear it from someone who knows.. I've striped my stock n15 box down and swapped the gear set over into the lsd box now. From what I remember, n15 gears in an lsd box were a better setup unless your circuit racing? So should be all good now. I'll put it all together tonight and see how we go.

  12. #10
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't just drop a whole gear cluster from an N15 into an LSD box unless the final drive is the same between the two BTW.

  13. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahh.. ok. How can I check if they are? Is there a difference in size I can measure, or number of teeth on the gear? Anything?

  14. #12
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check tooth count and gear diameter.

  15. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tooth count was the same, so was the diameter. All fitted up and took her for a spin around the block. Runs like a dream. Finally. Almost ready to go for a roadworthy now.

    Thanks for all your help Cozzm0, really appreciate it.

  16. #14
    Need Input Cozzm0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    555
    Thanked
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad you didn't have any dramas and all went well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •