PDA

View Full Version : 18LE Turbo conversion

Spamsport
20-01-2016, 07:54 PM
Hello,
I'm pretty new to the world of Pulsars but have recently got an N13 Q which I picked up pretty cheap. Its a good little car but I bought it with the intention of having a bit of a play about with it. I've read bits of pieces of information on various websites about making a 2litre engine using camira cranks etc. (any ideas where you would get these now!?!) but also lots of references to people having turbocharged the 18le. I can't find any specific information though, has anyone here ever done it or know how its been done? No point in trying to re-invent the wheel if its already been done!

Thanks in anticipation of your help,
Jonathan

Leroy Peterson
20-01-2016, 08:23 PM
I could be wrong, but most N13 owners turbo CA engines. An 18LE would need a custom turbo manifold ??

Spamsport
21-01-2016, 07:09 AM
Hi,
Thanks for your reply, I have read a little about CA18 swaps as you say, but I have also seen reference to 18le turbo conversions but no details. I'd be more interested in sticking with the 18le, not looking for massive power, I'd be happy with fairly low boost.

Thanks again,
Jonathan

Leroy Peterson
22-01-2016, 10:25 PM
And what exhaust manifold are you going to use? And which ECU?

Spamsport
23-01-2016, 05:26 AM
That's the sort of details I was hoping people here could help with. I think the standard ECU can be reprogrammed reasonably easily and I believe there were versions of this engine turbocharged by GM in other countries. I was pretty hopeful that someone here would have details on how the conversion has been done in the past.

Leroy Peterson
25-01-2016, 06:56 AM
I think the standard ECU can be reprogrammed reasonably easily
That is very rarely the case with Nissan ECUs.

Sorry I can't help further but be sure to let us know if you come across any further info.

Spamsport
25-01-2016, 07:42 AM
That is very rarely the case with Nissan ECUs.