User Tag List

Thread: Short shift kit recommendations

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Short shift kit recommendations

Hi all,

I'm looking at getting a short shift kit for my N15 SSS. Any recommendations on what to get and places in Melbourne that can install them? I am far from a mechanic and probably don't have the equipment to do it.

Thanks!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Im only familiar with n14 and gtir but IMO honestly standard feels the best. So many short shifters just end up feeling terrible. Alternatively you could modify the standard shifter for a shorter throw.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    modify the standard one by moving the ball, or buy a twm.
    quality is remembered long after price is forgotten

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    all though there may be mixed opinions about these everywhere, haters and fanboys and whatnot. honestly paired with a proper gear knob, (weighted - $50-70 from autobarn) the short shifter i sell is by far the best shifter ive ever come across, if it were as bad as they say they are then i must be doing something wrong to make it feel soo right! lol.

long story short, you're preference really.. i hated the modified stock shifter, shorter shaft etc, i couldnt justify the price of a B&M or twm shifter, given ive burried 99% of funds into the engine/turbo of my build along with some jdm goodies, so i sourced the alternative.

your options:

1) you can modify what you have yourself - probably not feasible since your not really mechanically minded as stated.
    2) spend alot of money on a really good quality one and pay a shop to fit it (as Enzo said buy a twm they are unfaultable!)
    3) buy one from me, head down to autobarn and pick out a nice heavy gearknob to go with it. then pay for it to be fitted
    4) any of the above, get some rev head mates over and everyone have a crack at doing it as a learning curve together